can i?

image

Shall I write it in a letter?
Shall I try to get it down?
Oh, you fill my head with pieces
Of a song I can’t get out.

The Paper Kites performed tonight at Music Hall of Williamsburg and by the time I got home it was 1am and I was starving. Luckily I had rescheduled my 6am run or I’ll be a zombie tomorrow. The lead singer, Sam Bentley, was talking about how difficult long distance relationships are and he made this comment: “What’s considered long distance here? Manhattan and Brooklyn?” You can laugh, but I have limited myself to a small portion of the Isle of Manhattan let alone another borough or the horror of another state (even if that state is just across the river)!

The cons of dating outside of your neighborhood comfort zone:

  • The commute after a night out or anytime during the winter
  • Finding yourself in foreign neighborhood with named streets, without easy access to a taxi, and having to use Google to figure out where the nearest subway, coffee or ice cream shop is.

The pros of dating outside of your neighborhood comfort zone:

  • You discover new places.
  • You become more comfortable in new neighborhoods. I’d probably still be avoiding West Village if it weren’t for many dates in that area.
  • When you break up you can walk around your neighborhood without worrying about bumping into them or having places remind you of them.
Leave a Reply

