the y

Why do we do it?
For the view.

These days I rarely pay to go see a movie. The same way I rarely pay to watch TV. I’d prefer to go see a live show if possible. But there’s something kind of old school about the Angelika Film Center that kind of adds to the movie going experience.

I follow Conrad Anker and Jimmy Chin on Instagram so I started to see mentions of Meru a few months ago and when I saw the trailer I knew I just had to go and see it. It’s an epic documentary of failure, triumph, loss, gain, exhaustion, endurance, destruction and recovery. It’s incredibly revealing and raw. They pushed themselves to their physical and mental breaking points and that is such an amazing thing to bear witness to. And for a moment you get to share in a view that you would not normally see. And that moment is inspiring.

Leave a Reply

