i fear i have lost something

Atlanta, Georgia

The pleasure isn’t in doing the thing, the pleasure is in planning it.

Been here a full day and I’ve struggled to find what it is that makes Atlanta unique. It’s not a particularly interesting place I am finding. Although the Shaky Knees Festival has been amazing. I saw The Devil Makes Three, Interpol, Milky Chance and Wilco perform. They were all really amazing. I also saw two marriage proposals today, lots of drugs and had a pomegranate lemonade ice block which was delicious. The festival was awesome but the rest of Atlanta wasn’t. I wonder if it was a poor choice of location on my part or if I am finding traveling to be less exciting than it used to be.

image

Milky Chance at Shaky Knees 2015

And we were bound to the citylife
Flashlights when we’re falling into the night
Focused on what you feel
Just when you were calling her love that day

So at about 8 in the morning on Mother’s Day in Australia my mother calls to ask me why I haven’t called yet. She didn’t even give me enough time to screw up! She didn’t wake up my sisters to give them an earful. She chooses the daughter who is on the other side of the world. I do wish I was a better daughter, the one who remembers to call more often or as my mother says will “just come home”. Unfortunately I’m not that person. Instead today I’m in a city I don’t even like enjoying my free popcorn and in-room movie, Jupiter Ascending.

She asked me, “Son, when I grow old,
Will you buy me a house of gold?
And when your father turns to stone,
Will you take care of me?”

Leave a Reply

