last day

Forget about your balls
And grow a pair of tits

This is the third year I’ve been to the Orchid Show at the New York Botanical Garden. A few months ago I read The Orchid Thief so I was looking forward to this show but I had completely forgotten about it until I saw a poster last weekend saying today would be the last day that I made an effort to go see it. A lot of effort was required since I have only had three hours sleep in the last 24 hours.

Some of the orchids looked like they were starting to deteriorating, probably from all the times they had been grabbed up until this point. The theme this year was chandeliers which works well for orchids because they look so beautiful hanging up and cascading down.

Walking around I felt a little nostalgic, it reminded me that last year my mother was here and we walked around this greenhouse together. I was getting ready to leave on my sabbatical. Now that I’m here again I feel like I’m repeating myself.

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

