i’m in it for the long run

Question: Tell me what you think about me
I buy my own diamonds and I buy my own rings
Only ring your cell-y when I’m feelin lonely
When it’s all over please get up and leave

When I came to Austin I wouldn’t have been surprised if there were horses and cowboy boots. Instead running 6km through Austin reminds me a lot of Brisbane. Running tracks along the river and weaving up and over bridges. Looking out across the river I see sky and fairly non-descript skyline. The weather is just perfect. Warm enough for a t-shirt with a refreshing mist. Plenty of people running with dogs and in their Lululemon gear.

I will also admit to expecting there to be some rednecks but they’re actually very liberal. With plenty of hipsters around. Austin is also home to some major companies – Dell, Airbnb, Cisco. So there are plenty of yuppies around. It’s a city that defies that Texan stereotype. Let’s keep Austin Weird!

Leave a Reply

