me vs. food

Fresh cut grass.
One cold beer.
Thank God I am here and now.

My plan was to try and get as much food into me as possible so I started early. I wanted to try to catch the Pineapple Fountain at sunrise, but the sky was too overcast for sunrise photos. The pineapple is a common motif for Charleston because it represents hospitality, but this was the only pineapple that I saw.

My plans for Sunday were disrupted by the fact that it was Sunday, the day of rest. I stopped by Charleston Bakehouse for a latte and a cinnamon bun. I’ve only ever had Cinnabon cinnamon buns before but this one was so much better. unfortunately the coffee was watery.

image

Husk - Sunday Fried Chicken with Mac and Cheese and cornbread

Husk is one of the most well-known restaurants in Charleston. Chef Sean Brock changes the menu daily based on fresh ingredients in the area making for a unique dining experience with each visit. It was definitely worth a visit. I had a Summah Lovin’ soda with red pear shrub, grapefruit juice, habanero agave, soda. Then came out the most amazing buttermilk bread rolls with bourbon and sesame seeds and pork infused butter. I could have eaten just that warm bread. It tasted like a pretzel without the dryness or heaviness. Sunday fried chicken (soaked in tea, soaked in buttermilk) with Mac and cheese and cornbread.

In order to digest I decided to go for a walk, the city is quite walkable since it’s so flat. Found that a lot of stores were closed on Sunday. I did go into Candlefish, a cute store with lots of different candles. They also do classes that allow you to mix scents and make your own candle. If I were to visit again I’d like to stop by Mac and Murphy, a stationary store.

image

Shepard Fairey street art

By the time I was ready to eat again I wanted something that wasn’t fries chicken. So I stopped at Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream for scoops of seven layer bar and coffee and cream. Then a final stop at Minero for sangria and a trio of salsas and tacos (catfish, steak and pork carnitas). Hands down some of the best tacos I’ve ever had.

Food won. I am boarding this flight with a serious food baby. When you leave Charleston they all want to know: So where did you eat?

Leave a Reply

