hold on

They’re gonna get old and gray.
I’ll never do that, I wanna stay young.
Don’t wanna fit in, I wanna have fun.
So if that’s okay, I don’t think I’m ever gonna act my age.

Some days I can understand why people wish to return to their high school days. For me it wasn’t the best (or the worst) days of my life but I feel they were the easiest. Everything was clear cut and defined by the rules of high school. And I wore a uniform every day so I didn’t have to make any style choices.

Friendship was much easier to define back then. But since then I have made social media friends, I have friends I haven’t spoken to in years because we just aren’t in the same geographical space anymore. There are the friends I email every few days, weeks, months or not at all. There are friends I catch up with when we’re in the same city, the ones who there just isn’t enough time to catch up with. There are friends I’ve shared a week worth of experiences and there are those that I’ve shared several years worth. Some have occurred within the last year and some more than a decade ago.

At what point does a friend stop being a friend? Do we measure friendship by tenure, proximity, intensity, frequency, or something else entirely?

Some days I feel distance doesn’t matter. I can email someone and still feel the same feeling of joy at their accomplishments, sadness at their troubles, connected not to their every day but the overall. But other days I feel like nothing more than a penpal scratching the surface.

I’ve always known my romantic relationships were fleeting. The necessity of that physical connection cannot be maintained by my desire to travel and live in new destinations. But I wonder if friendships are also fleeting when you are incapable of setting down roots.

Look, if you had just one opportunity, just one shot, to seize everything you ever wanted, would you take the chance?

Leave a Reply

