it’s a beautiful day

Frank: Yeah, I was thinking we could go down to Times Square and pick up some ninja stars. Oh, and my friend Larry wants me to take a picture of a hooker.
Chandler: You know we really don’t take advantage of living in the city.

Today the city woke up to the coldest morning this year at -12 Celsius with wind chill taking it down to -24 Celsius. But I feel winter coming to an end when I’m able to leave work and catch glimpses of the sunset because soon I’ll be able to leave work in full daylight. When the city is cold outside I find excuses not to go outside and take advantage of living in the city. About a year ago my manager took me down 51st St where we looked out at the East River and he asked me about how I felt about staying in New York. I told him the truth, that I was ambivalent because I was ready to leave. That day I didn’t notice the steps that could take you down to Peter Detmold Park or the pedestrian crossway over to the East River. Standing on that crossway I thought about that moment. I thought about taking advantage of living in the city and that feeling of being ready to leave.

Leave a Reply

