windy day at the beach

I was asked today if I love Sydney then why am I not there? When I tell people (like my mother) that it is because I want to travel I get the response that I have my future ahead of me to travel. But the way I see it is that I have my whole future ahead of me to settle down. Once I reach retiring age I might not be able to handle transatlantic flights with the same sense of optimism and vigor. But I know who I am now and the person I am now can and wants to travel. When I retire I’m going to going to find work that I can do part time and spend my time reading and doing yoga. I know eventually I’m going home to Sydney, to where my family is, I just know that isn’t within the next two years. Why does my love for Sydney and my love for leaving have to be mutually exclusive?

Leave a Reply

