i’m gonna show you

I’m tired of trying to be normal
I’m always overthinking
I’m driving myself crazy
So what if I’m fucking crazy
And I don’t need your quick fix
I don’t want your prescriptions

One of the Law and Order episodes I watched last week involved an episode where an actress performing as part of an immersive play was raped while the audience watched and cheered without realising it was not part of the performance. So walking into the dark hallways of McKittrick Hotel and seeing various masked faces staring back at me was an unnerving experience and the play, Sleep No More, hasn’t even started.

It is a surreal experience that puts you outside of your comfort zone but also leaves you feeling uninhibited. You can choose to interact with the actors, the set and the crowd as you choose. The interaction was interesting to me, but there was a lot I missed out on. I did some reading after the show and found out there was a candy room and that you can have these one-on-one experiences with the actors. So if I went again I would definitely take some notes. Otherwise, the “play” was interesting in that I was busy trying to decipher what the scene was supposed to be rather than an amazing marvel of storytelling.

Leave a Reply

