stayed too long at the fair

1 of 52: Goodbye to all that
A collection of essays by writers on loving and leaving New York.

These are essays (eloquent love letters) by writers who experienced the city back in the day when the streets resembled those in Law and Order, living in rent-controlled apartments, partying hard with grand dreams of having something to write about. They bemoaned the days when Brooklyn was affordable, the subways were even dirtier than they are now and Times Square didn’t resemble Disneyland. Some of them left and some of them returned. Some of them were born and raised in the city, some across the river and some further away than that. All drawn to this city by the false belief that if “you can make it here you can make it anywhere”.

When I first learned that I would be leaving New York I was relieved. I was grateful that I didn’t have to make the decision to leave. Because for the years leading up to that moment I knew it could end suddenly so I had that sense of carpe diem to keep me going and by this point I didn’t have any regrets about leaviing. Being pulled back feels weird. The sense of urgency that was there the first time is now gone. The feeling of unfamiliarity and adventure in the face of the unknown is gone. Perhaps I’ve stayed too long? Reading each essay felt like looking for an answer – he loves me, he loves me not, he …

Leave a Reply

