when i grow up

And when I grow up
I will be smart enough to answer all
the questions that you need to know
the answers to before you’re grown up.

I’ve always preferred the big picture to the minute details. And when it came to envisioning my life as a grown-up I was also hazy on the details of the how and the what. I just knew it would happen somehow, magic perhaps?

When I get on a plane I don’t feel fear because by then I feel like it is too late. I’m putting a lot of faith in the pilot, a faceless stranger. While I have studied enough aerodynamics to understand it is not magic. It feels like magic to me. My fear for my safety clearly does not outweigh my desire to get on a plane to travel long distances. There is nothing wrong with a little faith in magic and God when you’re in a little tin can moving through the air from point A to point B, especially when the news tells you that there is a plane out there that is missing.

Leave a Reply

