night is now falling, so ends the day

Many places I have been
Many sorrows I have seen
But I don’t regret
Nor will I forget
All who took that road with me

I remember when I went to see The Hobbit. The first movie that I did not realise was going to be a trilogy. I complained about them milking the book for all it was worth and then I refused to see the second movie. But I really liked The Battle of the Five Armies. When you’ve already read the book and know what happens I suppose it doesn’t matter what you have or have not seen.

Here’s a hypothetical question: if you started reading a book and then realised it was actually the story of your life, would you continue reading?

I couldn’t. I’m not a huge fan of surprises but I feel the pressure of knowing and either wanting to change or not change the future is too much responsibility for me to handle. I have cheated and skipped to the end of books in the past or looked up what happens at the end of the TV series. And each time I never go back to what happened in the middle because I’m done with it. I feel reading the story of my life would be similar to that. Once I knew what happened I wouldn’t be bothered with actually living it.

Leave a Reply

