no man is an island

My nephew is currently on school holidays and he has been bugging me all week to come swimming with him. So I’ve been sitting on the sidelines watching him swim and he’s actually really good. A lot better than the other kids in his group who are both bigger and older than him.

This was the swimming pool in which I first learned to swim, but it’s not the same pool that I trained in. I was a pretty decent swimmer – it’s almost un-Australian to not be a decent swinmer. But I didn’t learn how to swim until I was 10 because I would freak out if I had to put my face under water. Being back here reminds me of the time when I wasn’t able to dive down to pick up ring and swim back to the wall.

Leave a Reply

