dear trail …

I’m sorry it has been so long since we have gotten hot and sweaty. Me running free and you with your protrounding rocks, winding paths and muddy puddles beneath my feet. I don’t know why it has been so long. Perhaps everything got so hard and I felt you were so inaccessible. Perhaps I just fell out of love with you and just needed something that would make me fall in love with you again. I hope we can do this again real soon.

On our second day in Olympic National Park we walked the Sol Duc Falls Trail and Mink Lake Trail before I booked it all the way back to the Hot Springs Resort. I don’t know if it was the thought of all that water or if I just wanted to be alone. Probably a combination of both because it felt so good. I had almost an hour to myself to just cool down, freshen up but running down that mountain by myself it just felt so freeing. Some people did not rate the trail well because it was so rocky, but for me the challenge of crossing the rocks was what made it so much fun. As expected from a rainforest it was humid and a little wet. It was all that I wanted it to be. A great way to end the trip.

image

A hobo

For our last night on the trek we did another round of “trivia”, which I just have absolutely no skill for. It was a nice way to spend time with the friends I have made in the last 2 weeks, just sitting around a campfire.

Leave a Reply

