a train trip closer to sunrise

This morning we made the train trip from Cusco to Aguas Calientes (hot water) in preparation for our sunrise trip to Machu Picchu. I am looking forward to it, but at the same time it feels like the end if my trip since then we’ll be back in Brazil to what I imagine will feel a lot more like civilisation.

image

View from Aguas Calientes

Not much to do in Aguas Calientes, except look at souvenirs, eat and listen to stories from other travellers. A whole bunch of Inca Trail trekkers just got back, and they’re clearly high on the experience. It makes me count down the days until my camping trip around the US. I am looking forward to going to Glacier National Park and the Grand Canyon again. I will be sick of camping by the time it’s all over. I’ve been online shopping since I forgot that my trail shoes and items like my headlamp are packed up and sitting in a warehouse waiting to be shipped to Australia. So a short trip to Amazon.com will be required.

Had dinner with one of the trekkers and he is another person I’ve met who is here for the entirety of the World Cup. He works for a few months and then takes a few months off to volunteer and travel. Part of me is envious and wants to live this lifestyle. The other part of me likes seeing the end result and wants too many things that this kind of lifestyle probably wouldn’t be for me. Still I can marvel at the excitement of this guy who has volunteered in South Africa where his house was shot up and then share stories about Galapagos Islands with him.

Leave a Reply

