rub salt in those wounds

Made it to Salar de Uyuni after some epic flights. And now lazing about in the luxurious salt hotel, Palacio de Sal. All the salt that gets produced within Bolivia does not get exported because of tax reasons and because all the neighbouring countries have their own sources of salt.

Since they have all this excess salt, I think this is why they overcompensate and put too much in all their cooking. I am currently sick and even with my dulled tastebuds all I can taste is salt. These structures made from salt are pretty amazing though. Much more amazing than the salty llama meat. And then tomorrow we’ll be staying in a clay hut.

At the time I was there I did not realise we would just be spending the one day at the salt flats so I am quite disappointed that our time there was so short. One of the few photos that I did get…

wpid-img_20140528_194505.jpg

Leave a Reply

