there are always lines

Last month I read an article on Gothamist announcing that NY State Pavilion would be open today for the first time in 27 years to mark the 50th anniversary of the NY World Fair. I turned up at just after 11, thinking that even if there was a long line it would move pretty quickly since the pavilion isn’t very big. Rookie mistake. I joined the queue, blissfully unaware that there might be more than one queue. And as I got to the start I thought the two hours of waiting would come into fruition. Alas, it was not meant to be since the queue was to get a yellow ticket and we were told to come back in two hours to wait for someone to call out our number. So I wasted two hours of my life for nothing. One person waited in line at 6:00 am (for an 11:00 am opening) to be the first person inside. The event was supposed to be from 11:00 am to 2:00 pm, so they clearly underestimated the number of people who would turn up and did not have a contingency for crowd control or for telling people what to expect in terms of the wait.

For anyone who missed it, May 18 will be kind of a big affair. Just be prepared for a long wait. For me, standing at the entrance is as close as I will get.

Leave a Reply

