the secret life of me

“To see things thousands of miles away, things hidden behind walls and within rooms, things dangerous to come to, to draw closer, to see and be amazed.”

Usually flights are just a great excuse for me to sleep. Every now and then I give in to the pull of the in flight entertainment, and tonight it was “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”. Not long after I moved here did Ben Stiller start filming just around the corner from my humble abode and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why there was a dump truck in this movie. But the scene they were shooting  was the one where the characters fall into a garbage truck after falling out of the sky. I only realised because of the sign on the side of the truck. Watching Walter zone out, it reminded me a little of myself. Sometimes I feel like I’m not present in my current life because I’m off imagining myself living a more fulfilling life elsewhere. But in the moments where I feel like I am alive, those are the moments where I don’t zone out. And it makes me long for that life even more. To live the kind of grand adventure where I climb the Himalayas or jump out of a plane.

Previously, every time I flew back to NYC and crossed that bridge and saw that skyline I would get a little tingle thinking about that city. But this time I felt like it didn’t need to be home anymore.

Leave a Reply

