when i grow up…

i will be smart enough
to answer all the questions that you need to know the answers to
before you’re grown up

I’ve read the book, seen the movie and now experienced the musical. Up until the performance of this musical number I was ready to say that I preferred the movie. But this song might be added to my current playlist of songs on repeat. It’s a growing list. I had never imagined the story of Matilda in song which is what made it a really interesting experience. That might be why I’m tempted to go and see Rocky, the musical.

I like to think that when I was a kid and I had dreams about growing up I would have wanted to be a fireman or an astronaut. Something cool. But I am pretty sure I thought growing up would mean I could watch all the TV I wanted and eat all the candy. Sometimes I panic thinking that everyone has had a plan for what they want their career to look like since they were a kid, and I don’t really care. Something fun that pays the bills. Is that too much to ask?

Leave a Reply

