so full

If you could have one last meal, what would it be? Comfort food? Something exotic? Something so luxurious?

Started with lunch at Ippudo in Hell’s Kitchen. I tried getting in one time but it was a 40 minute wait and I hadn’t been back until today, President’s Day. Only a 15 minute wait today and I got a ramen which was not salty. I enjoyed this ramen much more than the one at Momofuku Noodle Bar because I didn’t need to drain a whole bottle of water with each mouthful. I wish the pork belly had been more tender.

IMAG6247

Ippudo – Tonkotsu ramen

Visiting The City Bakery has also been on my bucket list. Because February is the Hot Chocolate Festival, a different hot chocolate flavour for each day. It was my sugar quota for the week.. But I am thinking I should go back just for the Espresso Hot Chocolate.

The City Bakery - Caramel Hot Chocolate

The City Bakery – Caramel Hot Chocolate

I didn’t think I would like vegan sushi that much. So Beyond Sushi really surprised me. with it’s fusion sushi being surprisingly tasty. So even if you are a meateeater, it’s definitely worth a try for a different experience.

IMAG6261

Beyond Sushi – Spicy Mang
Black Rice – Avocado – Mango – Cucumber – Spicy Veggie

Right next to the sushi place was the doughnut shop, Doughnuttery. The min-doughnuts themselves weren’t that great (but not the worse either), but the different powdered sugar sprinkled on the doughnuts were fantastic. This sugar should have been bottled up into sherbet straws.

Doughnuttery - Lemon Pop, Cheeky Peach and Apple Cider mini-donuts

Doughnuttery – Lemon Pop, Cheeky Peach and Apple Cider mini-donuts

The final stop was takeout for dinner. Num Pang is a little sandwich shop with some cool paintings on the wall. The pork belly sandwich was not the best sandwich I’ve ever had which was kind of a shame. But the blood orange lemonade, now that was phenomenal. I would go back for the lemonade. I wish the bread had been a crispy baguette rather than a stale bun. The flavours weren’t horrible though, they just lacked the kick that I would have liked.

Num Pang - Pork Belly sandwich

Num Pang – Pork Belly sandwich

Leave a Reply

