happy australia day to me

Where are you from?

I interpret “from” to mean where you live or where you are born. And usually when I’m traveling from NY and someone asks where I’m from then I read into it as “I’m from NY” because that is where I’m visiting from. But usually the answer is “Australia”. It just boggles my mind how often people are confused and go “but you’re Asian”. And it being Australia Day in the land of Oz, it really struck me that I hadn’t actually ever been asked that question in Australia. This is not to say that I haven’t gotten the occasional “You have to be born in Australia to be Australian”, it’s especially great when your manager says that to you. Who would have thought that the word “from” could be so misinterpreted and what answer are they looking for?

To say we have entered a world where we accept many religions, races, genders, sexual orientations, politics etc is a lie.

Leave a comment