getting out of hand

I am too scared to call home now. It’s been weeks since I’ve called home – I know once I do, I’ll get the guilt trip of “why haven’t I called?”, so in order to avoid it I haven’t called and that’s only going to make it worse.

The lack of decent Vietnamese food is getting out of hand. The “okay” Vietnamese restaurant that I go to now has a bun bo hue, which is my usual go-to when I can’t get decent pho. And when I miss the food, that is when I feel even more guilty about not calling home. I’ve started to miss really boring dishes as well. Just my mum’s omelet dipped with soy sauce and rice, boiled okra, spring rolls and vermicelli drowned in fish sauce and nem nuong.

Leave a Reply

