what happens in vegas …

Help me if you can, I’m feeling down
And I do appreciate you being round
Help me get my feet back on the ground
Won’t you please, please help me

First day in Vegas felt like a culture shock. I looked down the road from the Monte Carlo and I could see the Mirage, where I was going to watch The Beatles LOVE Cirque du Soleil so I thought I would be able to walk there pretty quickly. But that strip really plays tricks on you, in that it’s a lot further than you think it’s going to be and the people on the street really slow you down. Walking along the strip at night I felt like this was the trashiest place I had ever been. The number of people handing out the exact same stripper cards to men walking down the street with their partners and trying to convince couples that it’s “romantic” is just overwhelming. And it’s not like the ladies you often see hanging out in front of gentleman’s clubs who are all “dressed up” these were old women and ugly bouncer type men and there were just children of all ages hanging around on the street late at night witnessing this. I got asked for a lap dance and to join an amateur stripshow night, I can only imagine what they asked the women who were “dressed up”.

When I go to a show I always wonder how dressed up I should get, so usually to be on the safe side I’ll just wear a casual to nice dress with some flat shoes. In Vegas you can wear your fitness gear to casual shorts and flipflops to completely “dressed up” in the heels that mean you have to hobble down the street in and then at the end of the night you just walk barefoot,

I knew drinking occurred in Vegas, I just didn’t realise it also meant that you could carry them out the street and have them hanging around your neck. The stuff there will literally burn your insides. They are not stingy on alcohol. They want to get you smashed so that you will participate in all the other vices.

Cirque du Soleil was amazing! I’m always a little disappointed that they don’t allow any photography. Even though I understand why, I’m still disappointed. If you love the Beatles, you will enjoy seeing the songs brought to life, but even if you don’t it’s pretty theatrical still. More dancing then the other Cirques. But it still had the same breathtaking elements.

Leave a Reply

