so that’s how you make them

Went to a macaron making class tonight and finally learned how it was done. Even learned how to use a piping bag correctly.. At the beginning of the week my sister and I tried to make them from one of those boxes, but after tonight I can say the instructions on the box were nowhere near sufficient to explain what needed to happen.

The class was great for explaining everything from the different types of meringues, explaining how/why to age egg whites, how to alter a recipe to add flavor. I’m also glad she told us 2 drops of colouring would be sufficient, because I would have been so tempted to add a whole teaspoon. They were definitely time consuming and my arm got tired from whisking even though I had two others to share the whisking with. I will definitely be trying to make these again.

Leave a Reply

