how fast can you change?

Most of my trip back has been spent trying to squeeze in as many dates as possible with friends I haven’t seen in years. Always great to hear what other people have been up to, and reminisce about the good old days. This year was my 10 year high school reunion, and there was a pretty poor turn out I hear. But this has bought back many memories for me. Actually it started from the moment I was writing the speech for the wedding. One of my fondest memories of high school was the incident that led to us being sent to the school counselor. This is the closest I’ve ever come to therapy. It is also the incident I use to persuade people that team bonding is clearly not a good idea. Every time I come home I like to read the things my high school friends thought were good/bad about me. But over the years it has gotten harder to recognise the handwriting on these little slips of paper.

Most of the responses I got that were positive were from people saying I was easy to talk to or that I was a good listener. But the negatives all said I was stubborn and not an open person. Also lazy. I think all of those things are still true. I’m not sure about the lazy. I think my laziness has always made me very efficient.

But my favourite response is still the one I got from Mary:

+ U R … smart, nice … very into skool! N yeh … blah, blah, blah … I dunno wat 2 write … I think U R understanding at times … yep … sorri ….

– U R such a B-I-T-C-H at times. Y??? er … yeh … dat all … try 2 smile more man!! 🙂 Don’t B mean 2 others!!! I’m very sorri! I dunno u well … U give ppl da shits!! Sorri …

I often wish I had photocopied the ones that I wrote because I can’t remember what I wrote. I am sure I wrote it in English at least. Incorrect usage of ellipsis gives me the shits.

So many memories, but this is definitely one I remember well because it led to me standing in the vice principal’s office in my orange juice soaked pants and sitting in the counselor’s office watching a fly buzz around.

Leave a Reply

